[News] 12 Legit Court To Register Your Wedding [ Must Read

FG Lists 12 Registries Approved To Conduct Marriages Nationwide

The Federal Government has issued a list of the 12 registries licenced to conduct marriage in Nigeria. This is to settle the ongoing dispute of power between the Federal government and local government who have over the past disagreed on who has the legal rights to conduct marriage. 
The Ministry of Interior as the Herald of the Federal Government has restated its stance as the only tier of government permitted by law to conduct marriages. 
This was made known in a statement published on the ministry’s website. 
The statement further said it was within the power of the ministry to issue licences to places of worship and LGAs who have met the certain conditions as stated in Sections 4(2) & (5) of the Marriage Act. 
The Ministry of Interior has therefore licenced only 12 registries across the country to conduct marriages. They are; 
Federal Marriage Registries in Ikoyi, Lagos StateIkeja, Lagos StateAbuja, Federal Capital TerritoryBenin, Edo StateOwerri, Imo StatePort Harcourt, Rivers StateKano, Kano StateJos, Plateau StateEnugu, EnuguKaduna, KadunaIbadan, Oyo StateMakurdi, Benue State 
Read the statement below 
Public notice on conduct of statutory marriage’, 
“The attention of the Ministry of Interior has been drawn to the publication in the PUNCH Newspaper of Friday, 13th September, 2019, page 42 under the caption, ‘Marriage: Ignore FG’s directive, LGs tell organisations

 ROPC 2020


Leave a Reply